Zoubir Ouhib Named Fellow of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)

July, 2021. By Theodora Leventouri, Ph.D., Professor of Physics, Director of Medical Physics.

Honor recognizes exceptional service to the field of radiation oncology and cancer care

Zoubir ASTROThe world’s largest society for radiation oncology professionals recently voted to confer upon Zoubir Ouhib, the designation of American Society for Radiation Oncology Fellow (FASTRO). He will receive his FASTRO designation at an awards ceremony in Chicago on Tuesday, October 26, 2022 during ASTRO’s 63rd Annual Meeting.

Zoubir Ouhib, a medical physicist, research and adjunct professor in the Department of Physics, "joins an elite group of just 28 physicians and medical physicists who are recognized this year for their far-reaching contributions to the field of radiation oncology and their progress in advancing cancer research, education and patient care,” said Thomas J. Eichler, MD, FASTRO, Chair of the ASTRO Board of Directors.

Awarded annually since 2006, the ASTRO Fellows program recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to radiation oncology through research, education, patient care and/or service to the field. Since its inception, the FASTRO designation has been awarded to just 394 of ASTRO’s more than 10,000 members worldwide.